Weekly Photo Challenge: “HOPE” (Bald Eagle)

"HOPE" Copyright Anne M. Freeman

My posting for the weekly photo challenge is a photo (paintography) of a bald eagle that is part of a nesting pair at a reservoir a few miles from my home.  The bald eagles are back!!!

~Anne

Get interactive!  You are invited to comment upon this posting.  Options include actual comments, star ratings, “Like” buttons and reposting options.  To access interactivity options, click on the comments link.

 Purchase this photo print and other photo prints at:  http://www.shutterfly.com/pro/annefreemanimages/AnneFreemanImagesPhotoStore

35 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: “HOPE” (Bald Eagle)

  1. I read an interesting article on Bald Eagles and wish I could remember the source so I could share the link. They are such amazing birds. It is no wonder that their power and beauty inspired the Eagle to be America’s symbol of strength.

      • If I find it, I will definitely share it with you. When time allows, I’ll search old e-mails as that may have been the source of the article. I hit so many sites, it is hard to keep up with myself. LOL.

      • Hello Anne, I found that ‘article’ I was telling you about, but it was from an e-mail. I copied the photos and captions on my blog . . . http://orples.wordpress.com and entitled it “Aging Eagles”. Please check it out, I think you will find it to be very informative. I gave you credit in the intro, since your blog started this ball bouncing.

  2. Outstanding images Anne. I try to pic a random sampling of blogs to check out, both people who have commented on/liked mine, and others from the posts on the weekly challenge page, and I’m very glad I picked yours.

    • Thank you for your kind and enouraging words, Jeff. I visited your site and your shots are beautiful. My sister lives in Kittery, ME, and I used to live in Newmarket, NH. Enjoyed seeing those lovely photos of the area.
      Cheers!
      ~Anne

    • The eagle was actually pretty close. It was sitting on a wooden sign on the road surrounding our local reservior. I think I was able to get close, about 500 ft, because the parking lot I took the photo from is below where the eagle was perched. If we had been on the same level, I’m sure it would have alighted. Just one of those little blessings.

      ~Anne

  3. The bald eagle is by far my favorite creature. I even have one tattooed on my back.

    Perhaps the most majestic think I ever saw was when I was living in Alaska and saw a bald eagle soaring off the Cook Inlet near Anchorage, AK. It was no more than 10 feet from me as I watched in awe. I’ll never forget that moment.

    http://wp.me/pPyQY-xR

      • Anne, I hope you don’t mind that I jumped in on your turf to mention that article I posted referencing the eagle’s mid-life changes a day or two ago. After having read his comment, I thought he would enjoy it. If I step on your toes, please let me know. It is not my intention.

    • Joe, if you didn’t see it already (not to be nosy, but I did read your comment), I just posted a short article on my blog about Aging Eagles that I suspect you would enjoy. I posted it there because of this blog and really to share with Anne. You may be aware already that eagles have a mid-life renewal process, if not, then by all means check out my article. I think you (and anyone else who cares to read it) will find it rather fascinating. I posted it from an e-mail I received some where along the line.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by. I’m glad you liked the photo. By the way, I love your gravator photo, very cool, and I enjoyed the photos you your site, as well.

      Cheers!

      ~Anne

  4. how nice that they are back!
    there are eagles in my corner of the planet, and they are such amazing birds. love the contrast of the white plumage against the blue sky. thanks for sharing.

Your Reply Is Most Welcome!

