Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

 

“Unfolding Hills” – Copyright Anne M. Freeman

 

This week’s photo challenge brings us Near and Far, a challenge to find a photo that includes both perspectives in one shot.

I took this photo standing up through the open roof of our safari vehicle, holding on with one hand and trying – not quite successfully – to keep my camera stable enough to capture this intriguing scene unfolding before me.  what you see in the lower left corner is the edge of the jeep roof.  I call this photo, “Unfolding Hills.”    Part of its appeal to me are the soft colors of the landscape – similar to but not quite the same as the colors I see here in the U.S.  And, look how blue the hills appear further out.  The tiny dark speck in the middle distance – to give you a sense of the distance – is a huge old bull buffalo.  The scene is barren of other large animals, but I can assure you that the long grasses conceal plenty of wildlife.

An aspect of a safari that makes it so unlike anything else I’ve done in my life is the excited anticipation of what lays around and over the hill … “the bear went over the mountain to see what he could see” (for those of you who recall that old children’s song).  What delicious anticipation!  We lived on a steady diet of low-level adrenaline, punctuated by sharp spurts when discovering a new animal for the first time!  It was magic.

I yearn to return to that beautiful place, which is the Ngorongoro caldera in Tanzania, which we drove through on our way to the Serengeti.  I hope that each of you who hopes to go on safari will have your hope fulfilled!

Cheers!

~Anne

Get interactive!  You are invited to comment upon this posting.  Options include actual comments, star ratings, “Like” buttons and reposting options.  To access interactivity options, click on the comments link.

Purchase this photo print and other photo prints at:  http://www.shutterfly.com/pro/annefreemanimages/AnneFreemanImagesPhotoStore

 

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far

  1. The bear went over the mountain!!! Now THAT brings back memories. Great shot. The jeep looked like a boat to me and I couldn’t figure out what you were doing with a boat out there. Duh and now I get it. 🙂

Your Reply Is Most Welcome!

